Saturday, January 30, 2016

Review: Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes #2) by Sara Raasch
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Goodreads Summary: It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell.

Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?

Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Januari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect them from new threats?

As the web of power and deception weaves tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter, but for the world.
Rating: 5+ Stars
Review:  There's nothing for me to say except wow. Ice like Fire definitely wasn't a weak spot in the series, and I liked it better than Snow Like Ashes.

Ice Like Fire continues where Snow Like Ashes left off, and Meira really begins to understand what really happened with Angra and what is happening to her. She is constantly striving to be a better her, but sometimes she ends up pushing her friends away in the process.

It really gets interesting in Ice Like Fire. Sara Raasch introduces most of the other rulers in Primoria, and most have a secret agenda of their own. Enemies turn into allies, friendships are formed, and betrayal is in the air.

I can't wait for Frost Like Night!! I really hope it is well written like Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire. Sara Raasch is fantastic.
Purchase Location: Borrowed From Library
Edition:
 Hardcover
Buy the book:
Amazon|Barnes & Noble
Recommended for: Fans of YA Fantasy and Forbidden Romance.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment, I really appreciate it, and I will respond asap. I value all comments, constructive criticism included.