Thursday, July 14, 2016

Review: The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

27272506The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) by Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Goodreads Summary: 
Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…
Rating: 3 Stars
Review: 
The Glittering Court is full of mystery and intrigue. Perhaps not as good as the Vampire Academy series, but I liked it. The Glittering Court tells the tale of a young countess trying to escape an arranged marriage; usual enough, but unusual in it's own way.

Assuming the identity of Adelaide Bailey, she joins The Glittering Court, a scheme for servant girls to become upper class ladies and marry into a new country. There she meets a fiery Tamsin, and the quiet Mira, who become her friends. What I liked about Tamsin and Mira was how much of their lives were hidden, saved for the next two stand-alones in this series.

One thing I disliked and liked about The Glittering Court was how I saw the ending from a mile away. Escaping an arranged marriage just to become stuck in another? Never gonna happen. On the other hand, what I liked was how small aspects were hidden then later revealed.

I really related to Adelaide, which helped me understand her choices and actions. Cedric was another good character that I certainly liked. My favourite out of them all had to be Mira; she keeps her speculations and secrets to herself, but doesn't push for information.

The ending of The Glittering Court was somewhat surprising, I really enjoyed it. Richelle Mead is a great writer, and I felt that The Glittering Court was a disappointment.
Purchase Location: Borrowed From Library
Edition:
Paperback
Buy the book:
Book Depository
Recommended for: Fans of Historical Fiction and Fantasy combined.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment, I really appreciate it, and I will respond asap. I value all comments, constructive criticism included.